# VILLAGE OF FOX CROSSING BOARD OF TRUSTEES REGULAR MEETING Municipal Complex – Arden Tews Assembly Room Monday, January 13, 2025

### **Minutes**

# 1. Call to Order, Pledge of Allegiance, and Roll Call

Meeting called to order by President Youngquist at 6:00 p.m. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Deputy Clerk Chantel Jaenke took roll call and noted those present: President Dale Youngquist, Trustees Kris Koeppe, Kate McQuillan, Deb Swiertz, and Barbara Hanson (via teleconference). Excused: Trustee Van Dyke

Also Present: Village Manager Jeffrey Sturgell, Director of Finance Jeremy Searl, Director of Community Development George Dearborn, Fire Chief Todd Sweeney, Chief of Police Scott Blashka, Director of Public Works Joe Hoechst, Director of Parks & Recreation Amanda Geiser, Attorney Andrew Rossmeissl, Engineer Lee Reibold, and Engineer Zach Laabs. Excused: Engineer Bradley Werner. There were four attendees.

# 2. Awards / Presentations

# 3. Public Hearings

# 4. Minutes to Approve / Minutes and Correspondence to Receive

# Minutes to Approve

- a) Special Village Board Meeting December 16, 2024
- b) Regular Village Board Meeting December 16, 2024

#### Minutes and Correspondence to Receive

c) Park Commission Meeting Minutes – December 11, 2024

**MOTION**: Trustee Koeppe, seconded by Trustee Swiertz to approve the minutes and accept other departmental minutes and correspondence into record. Motion carried via voice vote.

### 5. Public Comments Addressed to the Village Board

- 6. Discussion Items
- 7. Unfinished Business
- 8. New Business-Resolutions/Ordinances/Policies
  - a) <u>250113-1</u> <u>Award Proposal Westfield Playground Equipment Replacement Project</u>
     MOTION: Trustee Swiertz, seconded by Trustee McQuillan to approve as submitted. Motion carried via voice vote.
  - b) <u>250113-2</u> <u>Change Order #1 & Final Sand Point Stormwater Pond Construction Project</u> **MOTION:** Trustee Koeppe, seconded by Trustee Hanson to approve as submitted. Motion carried via voice vote.
  - c) <u>250113-3</u> Resolution Declaring Official Intent to Reimburse Expenditures from Proceeds of Borrowing

**MOTION:** Trustee Koeppe, seconded by Trustee Swiertz to approve as submitted. Motion carried via voice vote.

d) 250113-4 Establish Polling Places for 2025 Elections

**MOTION:** Trustee Swiertz, seconded by Trustee Hanson to approve as submitted. Motion carried via voice vote.

e) <u>250113-1:ORD</u> An Ordinance to Adopt the Village of Fox Crossing Municipal Code Approved to Date as the General Ordinances for the Village of Fox Crossing First Reading, Second Reading & Adoption

**MOTION:** Trustee McQuillan, seconded by Trustee Koeppe to accept the First Reading, Second Reading, and Adoption as submitted. Motion carried via voice vote.

f) 250113-5 Operator License Applicants

**MOTION:** Trustee McQuillan, seconded by Trustee Swiertz to approve as submitted. Motion carried via voice vote.

g) <u>250113-6 Expenditures</u>

**MOTION:** Trustee Koeppe, seconded by Trustee Swiertz to approve the expenditures as submitted. Motion carried via voice vote.

#### 9. Reports

a) <u>Police Chief Scott Blashka – Successful Re-accreditation of the Fox Crossing Police</u> Department

Chief Blashka notified the Board of a successful re-accreditation through the Wisconsin Law Enforcement Accreditation Group (WILEAG) for the next three years. Chief Blashka expressed his gratitude for the Police Department staff and their hard work in getting the re-accreditation completed. He also thanked the Board for approving the software package that was included in the Department's budget. Having this software reduced the amount of paperwork needed and decreased the amount of time the auditors needed to be here by one day.

b) <u>Deputy Clerk Chantel Jaenke – Announce Candidates for Village Offices for the April 1, 2025</u> Spring Elections

Deputy Clerk Jaenke advised the deadline to submit candidacy paperwork for the April Spring Election was Tuesday, January 7<sup>th</sup> at 5:00 p.m. The following candidates will be on the April 1, 2025 ballot:

Village President: Dale Youngquist

Village Trustee #2: Kris Koeppe

Village Trustee #4: Kate McQuillan

Village Trustee #6: Barbara Hanson

Municipal Judge: Timothy Hogan

# c) President Youngquist - Trustee Gregory Ziegler Resignation

President Youngquist read Trustee Ziegler's resignation letter for Village Trustee and his resignation letter for Fox West Sewerage Commissioner. Both letters were dated 1/12/2025.

# 10. Closed Session

#### 11. Adjourn

At 6:16 p.m., **MOTION:** Trustee Swiertz, seconded by Trustee Koeppe to adjourn. Motion carried via voice vote.

Respectfully submitted,

Chantel M. Jaenke, WCMC, Deputy Clerk

**Note:** These minutes are not considered official until acted upon at an upcoming meeting; therefore, are subject to revision.